Make it count.

I haven’t worked out in quite some time.  Because I don’t want to.  It takes a lot to get me to do something I don’t want to do, even if it’s good for me.  Lately, I’ve been thinking about how lucky we are to have a window of opportunity every single day to do whatever we choose.  It’s almost mind-blowing, this amount of freedom, and a tiny bit overwhelming, the weight one can attach to spending your time wisely.   Today, I spent two-and-a-half hours with 8 shovels, one rake, 3 hand shovels and one garden wagon.  (There were people there, too, quite a few) We cleared out the garden beds at New Image in preparation for our spring planting on Saturday.  Keep Orlando Beautiful dropped off some grade A compost this morning to top off our beds.  So we got to work, harmoniously.  Me, Mr. Carl, two new volunteers…college kids named Delilah and Matt, and a chorus of kids who hold my heart with tenderness and care..Sean, Brashaya, Deedee, Moses, Lou-lou, Steven, Fabiola, Paul, Alfonzo, Jake, of course, Jake.  We pulled out the collards, after being completely and unapologetically schooled by Mr. Carl on the proper way to harvest them.  (I was unaware, completely)  Replanted our beloved pepper plants, transplanted the cosmos, pulled more mint.  Damn the mint.  Damn it to hell.  And you know what?  It came together completely.  No one was hit in the head with a shovel.  I gave loud and explicit instructions on how to avoid injury.  A few kids loaded our garden wagon with compost as others emptied beds.  Four adults who had never worked together worked as a team, common goal, hard work, zero agenda; the kids showed us how.  I loved it.  Plus, I’m considering this as a workout.  Count that.

About wsmithtdj

Gardener, mother, wife, transcriptionist, Jesus follower.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

