Chicken Wings and Terrariums

In garden club today, we set up a full-on outdoor classroom.  Our school garden is a work-in-progress, it was started last year and operates on a shoestring budget.  Usually, we walk out on Wednesday afternoon to our two raised beds and groom our crop, plant new seeds, harvest, you get the idea. For a change of pace, I brought two folding tables and a plethora of terrarium-creating supplies. 

Image

Grandma Peggy donated baby aloes, mother-of-thousands and whatever else I could find in her backyard.  I had a bunch of random ferns and such that are graceful additions to glass gardens. And off we went, each child using their own creativity to trim, plant and decorate their personal jar. 

ImageImageImage

The middle schoolers love terrariums.  No doubt.  I wanted to see if their affinity translated to the after school garden club crew who are 2nd to 4th graders, but first, we made palm tree pictures out of fruit.  I call it fruit art.  Kids like it.  My friend,Sue, suggested this piece.  And we rocked it out. 

Image

Some were more Picasso than others…

Image

The terrariums did translate to garden club. 

Image

The main difference was the level of filthiness that the younger kids were able to attain without difficulty.  It was a wonderful afternoon, with a real-ish outdoor classroom.  I did sustain an injury, though, folding up and putting away one of the tables afterwards…I broke my chicken wing.  My left chicken wing is broken.  It’ll be fine tomorrow, I’m sure. 

 

About wsmithtdj

Gardener, mother, wife, transcriptionist, Jesus follower.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

