Jack and the Beanstalk at Herban Farms

Image

Last week’s rain and this week’s sunshine have been the perfect recipe for an explosive week of growth at Herban Farms’ Community Garden.  The tomatoes are spilling out of our beds, collards are the size of elephant ears; cucumber vines are climbing over the broccoli.  It’s a little out of control. 

Image

Image

Our basil is competing with the green beans, trying capture the title of tallest in the garden.  It’s holding its own at a solid three-feet tall, but I’m betting on the beans. 

Image

Even the watermelon is blooming!  Get out.

Image

I can’t wait to see what next week brings.

About wsmithtdj

Gardener, mother, wife, transcriptionist, Jesus follower.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jack and the Beanstalk at Herban Farms

  1. supereddy24 says:

    Thanks for sharing those amazing pictures of vegetables.

    I have a question regarding to the space that watermelon needs to grow. Do I need a big space to grow watermelons? I have at least 10 watermelon plants and I will be transplanting them in the next two weeks but I am not sure if I will be able to transplant all of them since I have a backyard garden.

Leave a Reply

